Blurbs about #MJD219 and tales of my life

Princess Diana “Live Tweeting”

Recently in our MJD219 class, we were asked to watch a short segment of the speech given by Princess Diana’s brother at her funeral. We were told to “live tweet” during this, although we were allowed to tweet in a word document so that we did not annoy all of our twitter followers with something that happened many years ago. 

We watched the entire speech once and just took notes on it, and then we were told to turn those notes into tweets, but to make sure that they were no longer than 140 characters each, which is the model for tweets on Twitter.

For our homework assignment, we were told to use Storify to make a story of our tweets. Not wanting to end up accidentally posting them to my Twitter account, I just made an account and did not connect it to any of my actual accounts. You can read the tweets that I took here.

I really enjoyed this exercise in class. It really showed us how difficult it can be to live tweet sometimes. You may not get all of the information that you want because things in life don’t happen at the pace that you want them to. You have to try and get as much detail as you can, all the while accepting the fact that you are probably going to miss some stuff, so you have to choose what is important and what is not important, and I know for a fact it is something that I will have to work on.

 

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed what I had to say. 

Follow me on Twitter

Add me on Facebook

Leave a Reply

